Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-07-2011, 15:32   #1

Boat: Sandpiper 565, Tanzer 22, Corbin 39
Logistics of Working on Boats

Hi:

I am wondering of the feasibility of working on a boat given that I am 130 km away from the water. What are the logistics of this? Can you camp in the boat when it is out of the water, that is does whoever’s land you are on allow this? What about ugly messy sanding and the like, is the yacht club going to allow this?

Or would I truck a boat to my property? Is this even feasible at 40 feet? If not, what is the biggest boat that is reasonable to move on land? What does this cost?

I am just getting started on this journey, so I am dumb as a post at this point. At this point I think I want a blue water boat 35 to 40 feet such that I can go anywhere. No care of poor windward performance or any intentions of racing. A long voyage would have two aboard. Short duration local trips I can see having 4 or 6 on board. If all trips were to be just for two, I’d be heading towards 30 feet. I wish I could convince myself that 30 feet was the right number, but I have friends and nieces and nephews... I understand that 40 feet will be 4 times the cost of 30 feet - the brutal reality of boating. I would not assume that all my interest would lie in warm weather cruising. Indeed, sailing in Canada can be cold any month of the year, not even considering that going around Newfoundland looks interesting.