Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-12-2012, 09:32   #1

Looking for good undercoating for steel hull

I recently bought a steel hulled houseboat. I am working on cleaning and scraping outside and inside of hull. I am new to steel hulls so I was wondering if anyone can recommend a very good undercoating or sealer (as opposed to paint) for exterior and interior seal stop or prevent rust. Thank you in advance.
downtown7486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:29   #2

Boat: Custom 41' Steel Pilothouse Cutter
Re: Looking for good undercoating for steel hull

You generally want a two-part epoxy barrier coat, but you may also benefit from some sort of galvanzing layer/zinc primer. You may wish to ask your surveyor about this, but essentially, the treatment is quite similar to restoration of car body panels: remove rust to bare metal, top immediately with zinc-rich primer, coat in a waterproof barrier coat, and then antifouling that won't react with metal.

Devoe makes something called "Rust Bar" and Pettit makes something called "Metal Prep". I've had luck with both, but you should get someone local to you to clap eyeballs on your particular boat and make some recommedations.

I have found this boat very helpful:

It's important to understand why boats rust in order to properly stop it. Possess this understanding and do the work, and your metal boat will likely last as long as any plastic boat. It's more than just about paint.