Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2008, 02:07   #1

Boat: Coronado 30 - Lady Eliza
Mast Steps

I bought some mast steps and each one has six mount holes. I've never had a lot of luck tapping out holes and the thought of trying to do 60+ of them up the mast is... unpleasant.

The boat next to me has steps that appear to be riveted in place. I have zero experience with rivets.

Can somebody point me in a direction?
Old 10-08-2008, 03:21   #2

Hi Jack,
They are mostly riveted on. Use aluminium rivets of the most appropriate size and length. If the mast steps are cast alluminium (most likely) then you wont have a problem with electrolysis. If you are doing it with the mast up, then do it step by step and slowly. Start by measuring and marking . Have a shoulder bag for your tools and little lanyards. I promise that the only tool dropped from the mast that dosnt go over the side, does so because it has smashed through a hatch or head ! The bigger rivets take a fair bit of force with a squeeze type rivet gun. If you have access to a consortina type use that. Test the rivet size and depth by using a piece of material of equal thickness to your mast wall and one of your mast steps. Follow the drill size on the rivet box. Hold the mast step firmly against the material insert rivet into the end of the rivetor, through step and material. Squeeze up till it goes bang, and the shank pulls through.