Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2022, 19:24   #1

Boat: Rawson 30
Questionable Practices

Hello Forumites,

I've encountered another "previous owner engineering special", in the form of a partially crushed brass fire extinguisher with soldered in copper pipe fittings installed under the brand new diesel as a "waterlock muffler".

I've been a welder and fabricator for a few decades and I'm fully aware of the danger involved in running hot sea water through a mix of copper and brass and will be re-routing the exhaust properly and through a real waterlock.

The question is: As I will have to separate the shaft and jack up the aft end of the engine to get that abomination out, what is the consensus on leaving it there until I have to replace the engine mounts which are oversize and new?
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2022, 19:57   #2

Re: Questionable Practices

This deserves some pics!
Maybe cut it up and remove in pieces?
kapnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2022, 21:02   #3

I’ve always thought that old fire extinguishers were copper and the small pump type carbon tetrachloride ones were brass so I did an images search. Are you sure it’s copper?
I agree it’s not a great idea to flatten a fire extinguisher to make an Aqualock but hey, it’s not going to melt like a Vetus when your water pump">raw water pump stops working.
First, plan your new exhaust before making a move on the old plumbing......buy the Aqualock, vent loop and exhaust hose and see if it fits the space available. If not, you might have to replicate the copper one in GRP in the same location......in this case it’s highly likely you’ll need to lift the engine.
skipperpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2022, 05:32   #4

Boat: Pearson 365 Sloop and 9' Fatty Knees.