Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2024, 13:27   #1

Boat: Tartan 34c
Shippy solar arch for tartan 34

I'm repairing stitching on the bimini of our Tartan 34, which we are setting up for some coastal, and eventually broader cruising.

I have been contemplating a solar arch for a few months and I have pegged in in my head as a "someday" project, but I am also realizing that I can do it now.

Being a 1977 tartan 34, we have the short boom on the main, so I have a full 8 feet of space to cover before I get to the stern, and about 8 feet of beam towards the fore of that space. If I overhang at all, that's even more potential space, but at that point it's a bit too much of a sail.

In my head I was going to put in a hard top rigid dodger frame with snap in fabric panels first- because the existing dodger is about 5 inches too low to deal with coming up the companionway.

But the solar arch, even with a dinghy lift built in, is a much easier project, I think.

I'm feeling it out right now and I think it's probably going to end up close to 7x7 feet, possibly tapered in width to match the boat, possibly just 6 feet carlins with a 3/4 inch overhang.

I'm considering aluminum for the frame, bolted and not welded. painted, with plywood cut carlins with moderate curve (I'll match the house, maybe) and a glassed ply roof. I might do the carlins out of oak if I can find a decent price out here in virginia.

I can brace and do corners and make it all very strong without adding a bunch of weight, that's not the problem at all.

My problem is trying to make it look at least as shippy as the tartan herself. She's no wooden boat, but the 1960s S&S design is clear and I don't want to just chunk out a big cube of aluminum and anodize it purple and stick it on Seven Bells.