Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2006, 04:13   #1

Boat: Far East Mariner 40
Spreaders

I am presently fabricating new spreaders for my ketch, they are sitka spruce. The boat is a Far East Mariner; I have seen on the web site that some of the smaller Mariners have swinging spreaders. So I am assuming mine should be the same, I know, be careful when you assume. I have to admit I am rather new to the sailing game and have never heard of a swinging spreader? Any advice or comments on the difference in a set spreader vs a swinging spreader. While the boat did have the masts when I purchased her, the spreaders were not with the boat. So at this point I am not sure as to whether I should round the end or keep it flat. I have tried to get an answer on the site, but they are so few 40 owners that often I get no response. I have asked questions on this site before and found everyone to be very helpful, I only hope this question does not put me in the crazy catagory?

Thanks
Islandmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2006, 19:00   #2
Kai Nui

Good questions. The swinging spreaders should be fine, as the pressure lateral not transverse. The advantage to pivoting spreaders is you do not have to be as precise when locating them. A few degrees of pivot will allow them to align with the rig when the shroud is tensioned. The length is the critical issue. The design must create an angle of greater than 12 degrees on the shroud at the masthead. "The Riggers Apprentice" has a very detailed section on spreader design that you might find helpful. As for the ends, it really depends on how you set them up structurally. A shaped strap, inserted into a slot, and wraping all the way around the end of the spreader will keep the spreader from splitting from the pressure of the shroud.