Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2020, 02:08   #1

Steel Hull - Seeking Presurvey Advice

Hi Everyone,

I am a novice looking to buy my 1st liveaboard and have come across a very "tidy" Roberts 53, it is very well fitted out. The only concern I have, and the only barrier to progressing through to the survey stage, is the level of rust I found in the hull section.
I am not looking for a strait, buy/don't buy here, what I'm hoping for is some advice on whether I should be sufficiently concerned (relative to some other boats that are out there). The degree of rust spotted here was common to most of the underfloor areas I had access to, not so much on the rib (although there is one concerning rib section pictured here), but mostly on the interior of the hull. The price of this boat is very competitive so I could potentially factor in money to get it fixed, but advice from anyone who has knowledge on these things would be much appreciated. Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Inside Hull Rib Section2.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	436.4 KB
ID:	207882   Click image for larger version

Name:	Insid Hull Rib Section.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	414.7 KB
ID:	207883  

Name:	Inside Hull Rib Section 3.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	400.8 KB
ID:	207884   Click image for larger version

Name:	Inside Hull.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	409.7 KB
ID:	207885  

Name:	Inside Hull 4.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	405.0 KB
ID:	207886   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mast Foot.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	432.1 KB
ID:	207887  

Indipol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2020, 03:18   #2
cruiser

Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Re: Steel Hull - Seeking Presurvey Advice

Lots info in here >
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Metal-boat-.../dp/B0070QRME4
https://books.google.pt/books/about/...QC&redir_esc=y