Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-08-2016, 02:42   #1

Boat: Dufour 310
Teak deck life question

We are looking at a 41ft x-yacht with a laid deck over glass. 2000 model.
The survey has been completed and the normal list of annoying faults.

However, a big issue could be the deck. To my eye it looks cosmetically good. The surveyor has found a dozen or so places where it is lifting and while serviceable has given an estimate to replace the whole thing at a prohibitive expense.

I have had no experience with a teak laid deck. My question is how long would you expect a teak deck to last?
ben373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2016, 04:16   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Re: Teak deck life question

my boat is 33 years old and is on its second deck ! All depends on how good it was layed and glued not screwed . Had to recaulk 4 years ago . Not a fun job but worth it. The price of a new deck is now prohibitive so next time we will use cork in about 5 years I hope.
Old 24-08-2016, 04:30   #3
cruiser

Ours is glued down and badly needed refinishing and recaulking four years ago when we purchased her, which I did myself over he past three summers. It's now 15 years old and with care and no washing I expect at least another 10 years. They're awesome.
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2016, 04:57   #4
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Cheoy Lee, 44 Cutter. Dolce Far Niente

Teak decks have changed a lot over the last 15-20 years. The availability of inexpensive old growth teak from the far east is no more, so the manufacturers have reduced the board thickness by 30%, and the old method of glue and screwing has been replaced by vacuum bagging.