Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-10-2016, 03:30   #1

Boat: Sweden Yachts 34
Too dry epoxy hand lay up, will it delaminate?

My huge recore job is coming along and I've started laminating the deck. I'm new to fiberglass and I'm experimenting and trying to get the techniques right.

The first layer of 600 GSM biax that went on top of the Airex foam was well saturated I believe. Going forward I tried to minimize the resin use as I've hear too much resin is not ideal, but too little resin is even worse right?

On the second layer I pretty much squeegeed out any resin I could while the glass still appeared to be saturated.

I started to doubt my methods and weighed the glass and epoxy for next area going 50:50. I realized then that I had probably been down to say 30-35% resin on the second layer on the whole port companionway.

How worried should I be that this will delaminate? I still have two layers of 600 biax that will go on top which will get the right ratio.
Norado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2016, 03:44   #2

Boat: KH 49x, Custom
Re: Too dry epoxy hand lay up, will it delaminate?

It takes what it takes. Don't fret too much about getting an exact "ultimate" ratio.

Mix your epoxy, coat the foam, then wet out the glass.

Think of it like this. Too much resin will add weight. Maybe 20 kilos over the entire job? Too little resin means you'll have to redo the whole thing when it delaminates.

When you compare the consequences, it's an easy decision to err on the side of more resin.

Here's a good writeup on the wetting glass: F-44SC Catamaran: the basics