Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-06-2013, 14:31   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Urethane Foam Variables

I've had some great experience with successfully replacing some wet balsa core with some sheets of end grain balsa tiles on a cloth matrix. I will continue with my technique in dealing with some more soft spots; however, there are some spaces where I would choose not to cut away the full top laminate and decide to pour a two part high density foam into these places. When shopping for these polyurethane two part foams, I see and understand the density variable, but I have not been able to notice any other variables in the products on the market. What are some comments from those with more experience? Are there any other variables among the two part, mix and pour, urethane foams that would be of interest for those replacing some damaged coring?
Old 24-06-2013, 04:11   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Re: Urethane Foam Variables

Maybe I need to clarify my question. Are there advantages to using some particular two part foams?

Mixing time, strength, adhesion, shaping (forming/grinding). Are some easier to work with for any reason?
Old 24-06-2013, 07:00   #3
Resin Head

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Nauticat