Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-02-2016, 19:43   #1

Boat: Tartan 3000
Boat registration NY or Florida

I recently purchased a Tartan 30 sailboat from a gent in Connecticut. This is my first Sailboat, I am not sure where the best state to register it would be. I am a Florida resident spending 6 month in Florida and 6 months in New York.

I plan to sail on the Long Island Sound this summer then sail the boat to Florida in October. After the winter in FL the plans are a little murky. Back to NY for the 2017 summer is most likely.

Would anyone know the pros and cons registering in NY vs FL? There is a difference in sales tax which amounts to $300.
Larry Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2016, 19:52   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Boat registration NY or Florida

If you keep a boat in FL more than 90 days, regardless of your state of residence or if the boat is registered in another state or even if the boat is USCG documented, the state of FL regulations say you're supposed to get a FL registration sticker. Typically costs $50-$100 depending on the boat.

I would bet NY has a similar policy. If so, you're stuck having to register the boat twice every year.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2016, 01:25   #3

Boat: Jeanneau 40 DS SoulMates

Why not just get USCG documentation? Pay sales tax where it is the cheapest or where you are keeping the boat the most but do not get the state registration numbers - that is what we did
chuckr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2016, 04:38   #4

Boat: Camano Troll

You can document the boat but that doesn't get you out of paying taxes.