Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-11-2023, 01:46   #1

Can an EU resident sail a non EU residents boat in EU if its VAT NOT PAID status?

I have an American resident friend who has his boat in EU under the 18 month rule. He is the owner, US resident (EU citizen), the boat is US flagged and VAT NOT PAID.

The owner has kindly offered the boat to me when he is not using, and offered if I want to move it to a next destination country for his collection and next trip by himself. Is it an issue that I am an EU resident, sailling a non-VAT PAID boat of someone else around? Any special documents / license I should be obtaining before I skipper such a boat?

Thanks.
cruiserman483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2023, 23:00   #2

Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Re: Can an EU resident sail a non EU residents boat in EU if its VAT NOT PAID status?

Just researched this for a friend and found this:

https://www.williamsandsmithells.com...nfo-in-europe/

My interpretation of the above is, that only non EU skippers can legally skipper non EU vessels in EU waters.
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2023, 08:44   #3

Boat: hanse 415
Re: Can an EU resident sail a non EU residents boat in EU if its VAT NOT PAID status?

Its easy to confuse EU citizenship with EU residence. Anyone can sail on a non-EU boat and enjoy temporary importation but if the owner/skipper has an EU residence then VAT is payable.
ariette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2023, 08:57   #4

VAT is but one of type of the privilege taxes and is invoked upon residents of the union.