Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-12-2009, 06:48   #1

Boat: An Aluminium cruiser about 50 ft or less long
How Long Is a Boat Actually?

I have been fitting out my custom built Aluminium boat for the last 5 years, and it is finally about to go in the water. The boat was called a 51 ft by the designer, the builder called it a 51 ft, but if I measure it with a tape measure, (which is admittedly really difficult to do), it seems that it is about a few inches under 50 ft.
Now I don't really care how long it really is except that my impression is that some charges relating to docking and maintenance are much more for boats over 50 foot.
Firstly, is this true?
Secondly, can I define where my boat starts and ends for measurement purposes? i.e. do I have to count the anchor roller forward projection?
Can I register my boat as a 49 / almost 50 foot boat, and would this be a good idea?
I suppose that when I come to sell it one day I may curse this decision because buyers pay more for a longer boat.....
espresso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 07:18   #2

Boat: Pacific Seacraft a Crealock 34
Congratulations! I don't have an answer to your query, just wanted to say happy boat splash, may she float true.
Merry Christmas,
Erika
Ocean Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 07:37   #3
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Listen to me: Its 49 feet ORRRIGHT?

Only in a bar is it 50 feet. When coming into a marina its 49 feet. When going into a lock/canal/waterway its 49 feet.

In Greece its 40 feet.

In Australia its 9 meters.

Its SMALL. OK?

If they are calculating the price in Panama Canal YOU hold one end of the Measurers tape. Give him beer. Lotsa beer.