Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2023, 08:22   #1

uscg registration

odd questions, cant necessarily find the answer.
i've searched the forum for it. found a few threads about this, but not this answer.
I've read the uscg vessel documentation site, and a ton of the regulations, but just cant seem to find the answer.

can a recreational vessel get inspected and become a commercial vessel?
petrified89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 08:28   #2

Boat: Other people's boats
Re: uscg registration

I'm not an expert on this, but based on what I've seen previously here and other places, the answer is "technically yes, practically no". That is, the cost of required modifications will likely make it completely untenable.

Example thread: https://forum.gcaptain.com/t/coi-57-carver/60873/5
requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 08:40   #3

YES, it can as long as it passes all inspections and has appropriate licensing, insurance, gear, licensed captain

1 - commercial passenger vessel I assume, because most common type is commercial fishing (and regs are different for them)
2 - They only kick in for activities of certain types on a federal level (for example 6-12, or more than 12 people on an international voyage, etc). One can be an "uninspected" vessel caring out commercial activity as long as you are not taking more than a certain number of people and operating a smaller vessel.
3 - other types of regs are managed differently and have more to do with the captain having a proper license and insurance
4 - domestic voyaging vessels of certain size and capacity are encouraged to participate, but are not required by USCG
5 - checklist
6 - inspection guide sample for navigational and comms equipment
7 - small vessel guide