Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2020, 05:47   #1

Where to flag and pay VAT

Hi All,

I've had a read through the forum and it does seem that it might be worth posting my question, with specifics to me, rather than co opting the various bits of (albeit excellent) feedback others have had.

I am a tax resident of the UK. I reside less than 6 months of the year in Spain, and I have the paperwork to continue doing so post Brexit.

I am expecting to receive a German passport in the next 12 months. I am assured my application will be successful, but I have yet to receive confirmation or said passport.

I want to buy a boat for use around Spain/The Med. I am licensed to Coastal Skipper level and have an ICC.

I am mostly looking at the ex charter Bavaria 40s that are knocking around. There are a few dotted across the Mediterranean - with Greece having the cheapest ones. I am ready to buy and am keen to do so soon.

My questions are:

Where should I flag it?

Where should I pay VAT? - assuming the boat I get is not VAT paid. I figure the answer to this may be contingent to where the best place is to flag it.

Are there other considerations I should take in to account (ie post Brexit rule changes/vat implications)

Thankyou for any and all input
colombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 06:09   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Where to flag and pay VAT

If you plan on staying in the E Med.. Sicily and points E I would suggest flag it UK SSR or Part 1..
This gives you 18mths in Schengen/EU and a weekend in Turkey or Tunisia will reset your clock for another 18mths.
A plus is no VAT will be liable till the boat enters the UK.. a big plus if the boat is an untaxed ex charter.