Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-03-2018, 14:58   #1

Boat: 35ft classic ketch/yawl.
Send a message via Skype™ to roland stockham
Yacht in Transit, Panama imports.

Hi All, Going hairless over this one! I need a new engine. Found the right one but now need to import it and I am in Panama. Bureaucracy in Panama tends toward the unpredictable at the best of times and I have never done anything like this before. There seem to be a number of options for delivery of packages by FedEx etc but this is a 250kg lump coming by sea! I can get it picked up from the dock with a van. The problem is that it seems that you can only bring stuff in "Yacht in Transit" to a couple of marinas, the boat has to be in the marina and Shelter Bay at least seams to charge 20% - On the price of a new engineIf I can't do it YIT it is going to be min 15% sales tax plus import duties and other charges. Anyone with some experience that can help me out?
roland stockham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2018, 15:38   #2

Boat: Hunter 386
Re: Yacht in Transit, Panama imports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roland stockham View Post