Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2018, 12:48   #1

Boat: Moody 376
Cowboy stile boat mooring

I am 80% way through to buy a cruising sailboat in the med. Thanks to my digital marketing skills, my living expenses would be covered by remote work.

Now the tricky part, I am a health promotion professional which means, I create seminars and work shops for companies with employee health programs. Usually, these gigs need a lot of preparation in terms of presentations, preparing fitness diagnostic tech and organize travels. The travel expenses are covered by my consultant contract.

But what the h...do I do with the boat when I have to travel back to the client for a week? Put it in the Marina in high season (50$+ a day) would just eat up my salary that I later earn through the gig. Binding it to a buoy like a horse, Cowboy stile and leave, doesn't really feel like a savvy solution.
pantarhei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 16:47   #2

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Re: Cowboy stile boat mooring

How about a mooring in a river, near its delta, where the water has had a chance to spread out in case of a flood?

Sure, it would not be one's first choice, which would be a safe pen or berth in a marina, or a canal development, but if you can't afford the marina, then a mooring's about the only other answer, unless you could afford to leave it on the hard, usually not worth it for just a week or so.

Ann
Old 11-05-2018, 16:54   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Cowboy stile boat mooring

Guess it depends on where in Portugal you are based.. if the Algarve, Lisbon or Porto.. you pay for the privilege.
However if you go to Fig da Foz for example there is no 'High Season'.