Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-03-2013, 18:49   #1

New Boat Owner

I have no experience with sailing or boat ownership, but looking to acquire both quickly. I have been looking at a few different boats 30'-35'. It would be for myself and my girlfriend to sail around the Puget sound area to get experience. I was wondering if anyone could supply me with some literature titles, or the literature itself, on basic boat ownership and maintenance or beginner sailing guides. Whats the yearly maintenance fee for upkeep, repairs and docking for a 30' boat anyways? Any information on boat models or engine types would be greatly appreciated as well.
Ronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 19:02   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: New Boat Owner

Hi Ronin and welcome to the forum.

Impossible to say how much the yearly maintenance will be. Like asking how much monthly maintenance will be on a car. First it will depend on a several things:

How old is it and what kind of condition is it in?

Then, are you counting just regular stuff like change the oil, paint the bottom and such, or are you including the big things that may only come up after many years or even almost never. Again, like owning a car. Doesn't cost much for maintenance month to month until the transmission goes and you have to shell out $3,000. Or a house; doesn't cost much every month until you have to put on a new roof.

Boat maintenance monthly, if the boat is in reasonable shape isn't much but every 10-20 years you have to replace the standing rigging (the wires that hold up the mast). 36' boat would be about $3000 installed. Every 5-20 years (depends on how much sailing you do) you will have to replace the sails. 36' boat figure $2-$3000 each (main and jib).