Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-09-2015, 09:40   #1

Boat: Allures 45
New to Boating Insurance

I'm purchasing our first "new-to-me" boat; a 2012, 45' aluminum hulled, lifting centerboard bad built in France. My issue is getting insurance for the boat. I placed a call to Boat US and they refused to cover me based on my lack of boating experience. Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

This is my first boat, and I understand that it's a rather large boat. Because of that, I've completed all of the ASA courses up through 105, as well as 118 (Docking Endorsement). I've spent a week sailing and sea-trailing the exact boat that I want to purchase. I've completed a Maritime Diesel Engine Course as well as a Maritime Electrical Course. I'm a retired military officer with about five years of small boat (<20') experience in the military. I'm an active Paramedic. I'm planning on taking Offshore Passagemaking with ASA (108) or possibly going out with John Kretschmer on a cruise if he can find room, as well as an SAS course. The boat will be sailed in the Great Lakes for only 8-months per year.

I've invested a ton of time/effort/money into my sailing education. What else do I need to do to qualify for insurance? Maybe Boat US isn't my best choice?
enjaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2015, 12:05   #2

Boat: 1984 Catalina 36
Re: New to Boating Insurance

I recommend using Seaworthy insurance either directly or through Geico.
Old 16-09-2015, 12:29   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: We have a problem... A serious addiction issue.

You can certainly call around to different insurance companies, but I think you are going to find they are all going to be leery about insuring someone with minimal experience on a large expensive boat. What I would suggest is asking them directly what they want you to do, first to be willing to wright coverage at all, and then to drop coverage rates.