Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2010, 11:51   #1

Boat: San Juan 24
Newbie Wanting to Sail to Alaska

Hello Everyone,

I'm relatively new to the sailing scene and I would like to work towards sailing up the Inside Passage up to Alaska in the Summer of 2011. I have a San Juan 24" and have about 3 years of experience sailing Desolation Sound (so I am very aware of the dangers of strong currents) and along the Gulf Islands on the East Coast of Vancouver Island. I would like to get some advice on people who have done this trip before.

I would like to get some opinions as to whether or not its reasonable to attempt this trip on a San Juan 24. I know this boat is a great little racer/cruiser and is really hard to sink and handles well in a wide variety of conditions. I'm reasonably sure it can handle anything the Inside Passage can throw at it as long as I wait for slack tides to go through areas with strong currents and I just wait out bad weather when it occurs (I'm thinking of taking 2 months to do the trip so I should have plenty of time). The part I'm not sure about is the open water of Queen Charlotte Sound (from Port Hardy to the Inside Passage on the BC Coast). I know the seas can be relatively calm there but can also be somewhat unpredictable. My approach would be to wait in Port Hardy until we have a good window for weather and make a run for it. Is it reasonable to attempt this crossing on a 24' boat and how long would it take?

I don't have any experience on the open seas (my trips have all been in the relatively protected waters of Desolation Sound and Georgia Straight) but I plan on trying to get some ocean experience prior to the trip and going out with some very experienced sailors to learn more and how to handle big seas.