Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-08-2013, 22:12   #1

Oceanside Harbor to Catalina

I am new to this site and honestly this is my first time ever posting in any Forum. I want to take my boat (23' Regal) out to Catalina and instead of going up to Long Beach I figured why not just go from Oceanside Harbor over? Once there I figured for the first trip I'd stay at Avalon just cause the family has never seen Catalina. I have plenty of fuel, two radios, two chart plotters and a dinghy. If I cruise I should make it there in 1.5-2hrs. Is there a reason that driving my boat up to Long Beach would be safer than taking my boat the extra distance? I would sure rather only have a quick drive home. Please let me know your thoughts, suggestions and if you happen to want to boat buddy up.
sdforklift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 08:15   #2

Boat: none...
Re: Oceanside Harbor to Catalina

Its a straight shot to Avalon from Oceanside. Just did it twice on my sailboat last two months. its 42 miles. No Need to go up to long beach,dana pt or Newport. Sounds like you are equipped. You want to leave in am in order to get a good spot and better sea conditions.
As long as you have a vessel assist from boat US - you are good to go.
vegasandre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 08:31   #3

Boat: Prior boats: Transpac 49; DeFever 54