Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-02-2008, 02:23   #1

Alberg 30?

First let me start by saying this is my first post, but I have been reading the posts on hear for over a year and I have found a lot of great info, so thanks everyone

Now on to my question. I have found the "what is the best boat" question on here tons of times using the search function, so I am not going to ask that, but I have to admit that it is kind of related.

I have been researching and looking at as many sailboats as I can for at least two years, and it is time. The reason why I have been waiting is mainly money, I don't have much of it (I am a graduate student) so I had to save up, plus I didn't want to buy the wrong boat. I know what I want in a boat, because I know what I want to do with it, but I am having a hard time finding the right boat. I am hoping to find a boat that I love, get it ready to live on and move aboard this summer when my lease is up in my apartment. The major limiting factor is that I have probably about $12,000 to spend, maybe $15,000. I was hoping I could find something a little cheaper than this so I could have some extra to put into it if needed (like maybe a stove if it doesn't have one, or a fridge I don't know, but the extra money would be nice). I am not planning on doing much cruising in it right now (I need to finish school, I have about a year left in my program), I might do some coastal cruising in a couple years. So because it will be at the dock a lot the first year, I don't mind getting about that needs a little work, as long as it is more work and less money. Another thing that I would want if I am going to live on it is standing headroom (or almost standing headroom) at least in the galley. This isn't that important, but I think it would be a lot easier t