Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-06-2011, 00:36   #1

Aspiring Liveaboard Seeks Advice

Before I start this thread, I'd like to say I'm not a boating novice. I grew up on a boat, so I'm incredibly aware of the lifestyle and what is involved. It's almost second nature and I already live an incredibly minimal lifestyle because of that up-bringing.

I'm 29 years old and all my friends own their own houses. Something I could not do. I would go ape**** bonkers owning a house, so being a liveaboard really makes sense for my lifestyle. I already know I want a motor boat (I don't know how to sail or maintain them). So the boat really isn't an issue.

The problem really is where. I'd like to be in San Francisco, but as I've found the dock slips are hard to come by and there is a massive waiting list for one. I currently live in Utah, which is totally non-condusive for living aboard. The Salt Lake has a higher salinity point than the ocean so a complete hull overhaul is inevitable and during the winter it can get insanely cold. I'm also an I.T worker (Systems Engineer) and would need to work at my home port.

Right now my only problem is where to go that satisfies work, and affordable slip requirements. The West Coast really is my preferred option.

Any guidance or advice is greatly appreciated.
praetorsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2011, 03:21   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43
Re: Apiring liveaboard seeks advise.

Do you absolutely have to live aboard?