Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 19:53   #1

Boat: 43' Californian
Buy a House or Liveaboard?

I have been dreaming of living aboard for many years now however I am not sure that now is the time. Looking to get some incite/wisdom on the subject. I am currently at a crossroad purchase a house and be attached or purchase a boat and live aboard at a local marina. I like the idea of a house as the cost is much less however at 22yrs old and no commitments im not sure settling down is right for me at this time. Adventure is still very much calling! I don't want to weigh the conversation with to many details so please let me know what you think especially those who have many years on me.

thank you
Erick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 20:04   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Buy a house or liveaboard ???

Asking this question on a cruisers forum I'll give you three guesses what most answers will be.

Why do you think a house is less than a boat? If you're looking at a new 45' boat sure it's more expensive than anything except an apartment on the upper east side. On the other hand, I have a friend with a very solid 26' sailboat for $4000.

Monthly marina rent depends on where you want to live. Something in downtown Miami or LA will cost you a bundle. My friend is paying about $300/month for his slip in north FL.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 20:15   #3
Marine Service Provider

Buy the house, and then go to work on yachts... Get the best of both worlds...
FLLCatsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 20:20   #4

Boat: 43' Californian