Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2015, 06:01   #1

Boat: Fountaine Pajot Mahé 36
Cheap Marina in FL/GA/SC?

Hi there,

my girlfriend Cati and I sailed across the atlantic ocean on our 33 ft Contest "Maverick too". We are currently on our way to the Bahamas and will be in the USA around end of june.

We plan to spend the summer there. Since I last sailed there in my first "Maverick" (27 ft, in 2006) I wanted to come back and see some more of the country. As I am a travelling editor of german YACHT-Magazine I also have to do some jobs along the Eastcoast.

So we would love to find a neat place in FL, GA or SC. A slip with friendly people, where we could stay for two to three month, live on our boat. Meet the locals, learn about their lives, have fun :-)

From time to time I have to travel a bit, then again I will sit behind my laptop for a week to write a new article. So it would be nice if there is a coffeeshop around that I could use as my office. Living with two people on 33 ft and working at the same time proved to be difficult at times, during the last 7000 miles … ;-)

I do have a regular income, but it is not enough to spend every night of the week in a regular Marina. In 2006 it was 50 Dollars per night and I bet it will be even more by now. So if anyone knows a good and affordable place to stay, I would be very thankful for a message!

All the best,

Johannes

Our blog: www.zu-zweit-auf-see.de | Schon wieder ein WordPress-Blog
maverick2911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2015, 19:38   #2

Boat: Burger 74' motor yacht, 65 foot 12 metre, Flicka and sailing dinghy
Re: Cheap Marina in FL/GA/SC?