Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2023, 08:23   #1

Boat: Voyage 430
Hosting Visitors in Bahamas - Got Recommendations?

Ahoy fellow cruisers,

Pixie here aboard a Voyage 430 catamaran. Made it to the Bahamas New Years Day and slowly beep boppin our way to the Exumas. Current location: Berry Islands.

Next month some family's hoping to fly in and visit. And since it's my crew, my captain's charged me with figuring out where we're going to meet them. This is my first time cruising the Bahamas, so thought I'd ask for some help.

Anybody have some advice on beautiful places to visit in Exumas ish area for ~1 week??? They require a place stay on land, but want it to be easy for us to come ashore/they come aboard for a day sail/etc..

The parameters:
  • We work remotely, so Georgetown is the furthest South we'd realistically get in that time frame.
  • Not interested in Nassau - too big for us.
  • Ideally want to be in the Exumas, but open to other suggestions.

Things the visitors enjoy: fishing, cooking said fish ��, snorkeling, scuba diving, paddle boarding, kayaking, sipping cocktails on a beach, day adventures to beautiful places.

--

So far, Staniel Cay and surrounding areas look interesting. Have heard Staniel is a beautiful spot but lots of super yachts with way too many drunken jet skis zipping around. Visitors probably won't mind the jet skis/super yachts, and we can probably deal with that for a week.

Sandals resort and marina halfway between Staniel and Georgetown has also been recommended.

Appreciate any advise in advance!!!!

--