Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-11-2011, 15:10   #1

Liveaboard Adventurer, Needs Sage Wisdom

Hi Everyone-

I'm new here so I'd like to first introduce myself and then mine your collective knowledge for answers to my many questions.

I graduated from college in May, I'm a 23 yo male. I begin here because unlike many cruisers, looking for a fun retirement or mid-life change, I'm a young person looking for adventure. As such, my budget is extremely limited, but my work-ethic, ambition and risk tolerance are not.

I'd like to spend 6+ months aboard my own boat, beginning ~1 year from now. Florida seems like a good place to buy a boat: (hopefully) some folks looking to cash in on old investments in need of love they can no longer provide. I'm thinking that I will be accompanied by as many as 3 crew. I would like to make it from Florida to Guyana, S.A. by hurricane season. I'd like to stop in Cuba for a few weeks.

I've sailed since I was a young kid, but only on the lakes of Minnesota. I spent 38 days aboard a 135-foot brigantine during a Sea Semester. I'm not worried about the actual 'sailing' or most of the repair work; I am worried about costs, potential legal issues, engine maintenance, things of this nature.

To end this already lengthy post, here are a few burning questions / genres of questions I need help with:

- I'm hoping to buy a boat and live on it for 6 months for <$10k. Is this possible?

- I've read some general guidelines on buying a boat, but remember my budget is very small. Tips for buying an old boat and making it sea-worthy without dropping a fat wad? Also, 4 people on ~30 ft.?