Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2013, 11:06   #1

Pilot Wanting to LiveAboard in ST. Croix

Hey everybody, Just wanted to pick your brain a little about the STX area. I am a commercial Pilot and looking at getting transfered down to STX to fly. I was curious about living aboard in the STX area. I lived on a sailboat many years ago on the St. Johns River in Jacksonville, FL. This was MANY years ago.

I was wandering if it is possible to liveaboard year round? Either by Mooring, or in a slip? Would rather setup Mooring to save money. By the looks on Google Earth it seems that the area around Christianstead is the only place I see boats anchored out. My work is going to be based out of the STX Airport, so I would probably purchase a car to drive back and forth on a daily basis.

No kids, no wife...Just me... I have been researching this for about 6 months now, and I am boat shopping to see what would be the best fit for my situation. At times I would like to pull anchor and continue to explore the islands...But mainly after already situated in my job and a place to stay..

One of my main concerns is the Hurricane Season.. Since I am a pilot, it would be hard to pick up anchor and head south for that season.. I need to stay and work... is it possible to make it through the season there? Is there places on the Leeward side that are protected at all? I guess this would be closer to the airport and the oil refinery... Not sure if anybody does any kind of mooring on this side of the island...

Thanks in advanced... Looking forward to a new chapter in and around the USVI...

Garrett