Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-07-2012, 00:30   #1

Room for one more?

Hello everybody! I’m moving from Colorado and buying a sailboat to live on and travel the East coast. And I’m poor. And I have no sailing experience. I realize this is the perfect recipe for disaster, but I’m not about to start being afraid of life and new adventures just yet. I was hoping that some of you might be willing to shed a little light on the classic rookie sailing mistakes, give me a few tips on what to do, what not to do, and how not to be “That Idiot”. It occurs to me that etiquette on the water may be the next most important thing after safety.

I’m not starting with NO knowledge of sailing – I’ve been reading books on how to sail and scouring the internet for knowledge. I taught myself to build computers and design websites, so I figure I can teach myself to sail – but I realize that with sailing, the consequences can be much more serious than with computers. The term “crash”, for instance, has a much more serious meaning. The “Blue Screen of Death” is potentially fatal! But I suspect that nearly anyone with the desire to learn can eventually sail (though not necessarily quickly or efficiently) with the right knowledge and experience.

I’ve been reading “The Complete Guide to Sailing” by A. H. Drummond, Jr. I am considering taking some sailing lessons. Is that the way to go? Please share your knowledge and experiences so that I can avoid the accidental jibe (resulting in the dead man’s float) and swamping my boat (I wouldn’t want my guitars to get wet).

Many thanks! I sense this is the right place to go for real sailing knowledge and I’m counting on you all to skool me in the ways of the water. Thanks again!
Old 31-07-2012, 02:34   #2

Re: Room for one more?