Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2008, 21:04   #1

Radar Detector. Why?

Hey,

I saw this: Merv, the Mer Veille radar detector on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

and as I am new to sailing, what is the purpose of a radar detector on a sailboat? Just curious.
kaoskorruption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 21:43   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaoskorruption View Post
Hey,

I saw this: Merv, the Mer Veille radar detector on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

and as I am new to sailing, what is the purpose of a radar detector on a sailboat? Just curious.
There are times when you may need some help in finding out if there are any other vessels in your vicinity (fog, fatigue, not paying attention, singlehanding, etc). Most ships run their radar 24/7, so a detector will let you know it's nearby. In limited-visibility conditions many fishing boats also run their radar.

It's no guarantee, and at least for ships I would prefer an AIS receiver and/or my own radar, but the radar detector may give you that critical bit of information that makes the difference. Radar detectors have the advantage of consuming very little power, at least compared to a radar.
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 21:43   #3

Boat: Designing a global explorer (full keel & steel)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaoskorruption View Post
what is the purpose of a radar detector on a sailboat? Just curious.
So you can detect a radar (i.e. another vessel). Some units will even return a signal &/or set off an audible alarm, others will give you data of a rough direction of the signal. Some of these units also have very low power consumption.