Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2011, 19:10   #1

Starting Out Boating

I have been in the navy for almost 18 years, but i am an engineer. So with that said, myself and wife are going to be getting a boat. Keep in mind this is our first Rec boat. We have been looking at boat that range from 32-40' due to the fact that size has everything we at looking for. Head, shower, beds, etc. I am just thinking that is to much boat for us to start out with. Would like to know if I'm right.
Greymare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 19:17   #2
cruiser

Boat: Hunter 31'
Re: Starting out boating

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greymare View Post
I have been in the navy for almost 18 years, but i am an engineer. So with that said, myself and wife are going to be getting a boat. Keep in mind this is our first Rec boat. We have been looking at boat that range from 32-40' due to the fact that size has everything we at looking for. Head, shower, beds, etc. I am just thinking that is to much boat for us to start out with. Would like to know if I'm right.
I don't want to be the one to rain on your parade, but if you're talking about a SAILboat and you don't know how to sail -- YES.

You shouldn't buy ANyTHING yet, and especially based solely on the cabin. If you're going to live aboard that's important, but first you have to be able to handle the boat.

Sailing is trickier than it looks. Find a sailing club and make yourself indispensable. You'll find lots of people who enjoy your enthusiasm and who will take you out on their boats. Take some sailing lessons. Sailing looks easy on a pretty day with smooth waters but wait until you only have three knots of wind -- or 30 or more -- and you'll find out there's more to it than it appears on the surface.