Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2012, 06:42   #1

A Dream...

As far back as childhood I always dreamed of living on a boat and traveling .I just surpassed the milestone birthday of a HALF a CENTURY and realized I truly am not getting any younger. Both kids are on their own and the husband is self employed and is ready for anything. I live in a GREAT place... Southern California and I work as a General Manager in retail. I am grateful to have a job but my passion has always been with the sea! I want to take the GIANT step and I am looking for any and all advice on how to make my dream a reality! I am interested in all aspects of the journey... how to prepare for a life on a boat, life on a boat with a dog, finances how much money you may need, how you learn all the things you need to know, any and all information to help me transition from this life of corporate America to a completely different lifestyle all together! I am scared to make the step but am also scared that at some point in my life I will look back and say " I should have" Can anyone shoot me some answers???? Thank you so much!
lhelewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 07:33   #2

Boat: Polaris Drabant 26
Re: A Dream...

It's hard to give any advise not knowing your prerequisites – what experience do you and your husband have? Anyway, don't be frightened by your age – it's never too late to start something new. And statistically you have lots of time yet if you're healthy.

One place to start planning (also recommended by SkiprJohn) could be Mahina Expedition - Selecting A Boat for Offshore Cruising

You got to have a dream,...If you don't have a dream,...How you gonna have a dream come true?
Old 24-11-2012, 09:42   #3

Boat: Gulfstar MK1 43'