Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2015, 10:08   #1

Boat: 1980 Pacific International Marine 41.5
Hello everyone![long post]

Hello everyone!

This is my first "true" post on here so it will likely be a long one.

I am a 24 year old(25 this year), I've been in a relationship for 5 years now. We are both adventurous and wanting to get out of the "american" lifestyle. My girlfriend will be graduating nursing school this year so she will have a bachelor of science in nursing.

I work in the IT industry as a high level engineer. I mainly do performance testing on servers and some minimal automation test writing. My background has been all manual testing, however my current job has been moving me more into automation. I was raised in the Fiji islands, as my parents managed resorts and eventually bought their own. I have a lot of knowledge of game fishing as I spent a majority of my time with guests out fishing as a kid. I dont have much sailing experience, however i have quite a bit of power boat experience.

I've always been drawn to the water and boats, and have always wanted to do a circumnavigation, however my family is quite large(7 children) so my parents never really had money to "share". When I turned 18, I decided it was time for me to move away and get on with my life. My parents bought me a plane ticket back to the USA and my brother let me live out of his motorhome for 6 months in our hometown until I decided it was time for me to move to a bigger city and find a real job. I moved away with $100 in my pocket, no job in sight or even an idea of what i'd be doing.