Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2007, 13:53   #1

Boat: Pearson Flyer 30
Hello Forum

This is a great site and I have been reading with great interest some of the threads regarding the 4107(8).

I am in the process of deciding to buy a 35' with a 4107(or 8 not sure). As per the broker it needs rebuild, etc. Then he said it was running at last use (5 +/- years ago).

I have yet to see the boat, as it is a 10 hour drive and I'm still weighing this out. I will make time towards the end of the week to take the drive. My purpose will be liveaboard, then cruising all the way to oblivion.

The viability of the engine is of great concern. I will try to do as much of the work myself. I'm not a mechanic, but I won't let that stop me.

Anyway, I'm glad this site exists, and I'll try to share what I see after the inspection. I am hoping to get coached up to speed to help make this dream a reality.

I'm a lifelong sailor, though the biggest boat we've had is a Pearson Ariel. I have plenty to learn about the engine, electrical, and other things like the self steering gear. Thanks...
Old 31-03-2007, 14:52   #2
Building a Bateau TW28

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bateau TW28 Long Cabin
Welcome aboard Richard.

Good luck with the boat. Plenty of expertise here with engines & electrical systems. Ask away. Take lots of pics they help getting help.

Rick
knottybuoyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2007, 15:58   #3

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
Welcome aboard SC35

"5 +/- years". Hummmm!

It sounds as if it's been sitting for a long while. Not in the water I would hope. If it's been semi-abandoned then it's going to have other issues. The motor maybe the reason for the reluctance of use.