Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2008, 05:33   #1

Hello from Bulgaria

Greetings to all, I'm new in this forum and id'like to introduce myself. My name is Ivan Mihov and I'm studying navigation in the Bulgarian Naval Academy "Nikola Vapcarov" . When I graduate my desire is to find a job on a cruise ship, but I've heard its quite difficult, I know it's easier to start working on a tanker or bulk carrier as a third officer and I'd be very thankful if anyone tells me what's the real situation because i've heard a lot of different contradictory opinions. Someone told me on such ships it's hard to get a job on the bridge for people from eastern Europe, other say that working on a passenger ship is much harder than working on a merchant vessel, other say that it is required a few years experience to sign such a contract, so I'd be very pleased to hear opinions from the members of this community
TytusPulo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 07:35   #2

Boat: newport30, Blues Traveler
hi and welcome to the forum.
I work on the bulk carriers here in australia and i can tell you there is heaps of work here. in our company we have many mates from india and other countries and many engineers from ukraine. I would sugest when you are about to finish your studies you forward your resume to as many companies as possible. a few i recomend you try if you are interested in coming here are CSL International, INCO, TK, P&O. that would give you some idea of what to expect. just do a search on the internet to find there contact details. And the mates on our boats do not work hard at all.
viking69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 07:54   #3

Boat: Corbin 39 Pilot House, Tayana 42
Hi Tytus ! welcome to the board !