Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2008, 15:27   #1
Obsfucator, Second Class

Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Hello from Charleston, SC - stinkpot here...

I've been posting in here for a few days, and figured I should introduce myself.

I'm from Woodstock, GA but keep my 1982 Sea Ray SRV360 in Charleston. I get down there about every other weekend.

I have had boats for years but I have no open water experience. First boat bigger than 16' was a 36' 1966 Pacemaker, wood hull, gas engines, that I bought in NJ and brought down to Charleston through the ditch. Later I traded up to plastic and diesels, a brought it from Big Pine Key about 100 miles across the gulf, through the Okeechobee and then up.

I'm wanting to bring it up to Chattanooga (1800 miles) so it'll be closer to home so I can use it more, and so I can work on it easier. I figure I'll probably retire to a sailboat for open water cruising, but that's a few years down the road. I thought I'd hang out in here a while, both for good information that applies to both power and sail, and to get a better flavor for the sailing experience.

A friend of mine has a little O'Day he will probably let me borrow (been sitting in his yard for years), so I can start learning a little about sailing (and someone gave me an old windsurfer I can play with, as well.) Or I may go the sailing club route.

My web page is here: DACUST . It has various stuff on it, including photos of some of my boats and photos of the Pacemaker before I gave it away. Oh, and a short story of my trip from NJ to Charleston.