Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2007, 15:33   #1

Boat: 31' Muira - Hoplite
Hello from Knysna, South Africa

Hi there all,

I stumbled across this site while searching for windvane advice and have been blown away with the wealth of info shared here. Hoping this will be the beginning of a beautiful relationship

As a quick intro, my name is Louise and I'm still pretty new to the world of sailing (two years, to be exact). More accustomed to chase lizards or be chased by rhinos while roughing it out in the bush (such is the life of a biologist), I was nevertheless quickly hooked on the sailing lifestyle which gives us such amazing opportunities to harness nature, respect her, and go out to explore her treasures around the world.

I've since met my better half, Nigel, whose skill as sailing instructor has taught me much about the finer art of trimming sails and choosing the correct curse when tackling stubborn fuel pumps. Nige has been in the game quite a bit longer, having skippered catamarans for a while. We're engaged now and on the brink of leaving South Africa for our first circumnavigation in Hoplite, a feisty little Muira.

Sailing from Durban down the South African east coast has been great practical experience, including a good blow of 50 knots. We're aiming to do our Atlantic crossing early next year, and can hopefully spend a bit of time in Brazil before heading to the Caribbean.

That's it for now - would greatly appreciate it if anyone can point my nose towards a good source of yachting info for the northern Brazilian coastline.

Keep the wine flowing and the beers cold!

Cheers,