Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-06-2012, 18:08   #1

Boat: None yet
Jacksonville, NC to Quantico, VA

Greetings,
Where to start.... Well I'm a pilot in the Marine Corps and fly the MV-22 Osprey. I have had the sailing bug for quite some time now and I'm ready to act on it. I am moving to Quantico, VA in a week and I'm going to be taking lessons on base or at the Woodbridge sailing school. I'm not sure which is better but the Wb school offers the ASA 101 rating, and I don't think Quantico does. I plan on sailing as much as I can in a year. After that I want to buy a boat to cruise the family on the East Coast. I have no idea what kind of boat I want but there are 6 of us total. I've never sailed a day in my life but spent the first 6.5 years of service in the Navy (15 total) and I've crossed the equator twice. I've been through the panama canal, and suez canal, and flew over too many pirates (yes real ones). Those idiots even tried to attack one of our sister ships in the GOA. They received complimentary 20mm treats, courtesy of uncle sam. I even got to transport some as prisoners and made every radio call in my best pirate voice. Anyway, thats me and if anyone in the Quantico area wants to teach me something or just needs some extra ballast, let me know.
craig0330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2012, 18:41   #2