Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010, 21:50   #1

Long Time Trucker Looking to Swap 18 Wheels for a Rudder and a Keel

Hi all!

My name is Ed (aka Steertire) and I have been a trucker for about 15 years. I have always been fascinated with sailing and possibly being a full time live aboard sailer. The few times I have had time off work I have had some opportunities to check out some different types of watercraft from trawlers to motor-sailers, I have noticed that most of the marinas I have been to with numerous slips have a boat in every slip! Even on a really nice day!

Heck why isn't everyone out on the water? I did grow up sailing local lakes in Texas and have been out on the Pacific on a 22 foot bobber racing sailboat. I haven't had the time or opportunity to buy a boat yet and don't want to buy anything until I know exactly what I want, so I haven't been able to access the piers to get to know anyone who is living aboard so hopefully this forum will make that possible.

I look forward to some informational reading here in this forum and some good times ahead!
-Steertire
Steertire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 22:10   #2

Boat: Islander 36
Hi Steertire,

Welcome. Somewhere in your chosen name is a story about trucking, or steers?

I recommend you try and get your hands on a copy of a book called The Livaboard
Report. I bought one at West Marine about 10 years ago. So it might be a bit dated, but still helpful I think.