Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-11-2013, 17:21   #1

looking for a partner

hola amigos!

i am new to sailing and just bought a san juan 24. i plan to set sail on a round the world journey in about a year. the only thing missing is a partner.

if anyone has some suggestions for finding an attractive woman to share this journey with me, i'd be greatful!

also, do you have some suggestions about learning how to sail? i live in south florida.

gracias amigos!
NewCruiserGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2013, 17:33   #2

Re: looking for a partner

a friend told me there is a dating section on your forum... where is this? i can't find it
Old 26-11-2013, 17:47   #3

Boat: Island Packet 27
Good luck to ya. I decided to go alone as it just seems easier...although the invitation is still out for Sandra Bullock should she care to cruise with me.

As far as learning to sail, I'm one of those that doesn't like formal instruction. I read everything I could get my hands on. The first time I was ever on a sailboat was when I bought a little 25' C&C, moved on board, and took off. It was a learning experience for sure. If you take your time and you're smart you will do just fine. It's really not rocket science to tell you the truth. I think with living aboard and cruising long distance, you have to have a certain personality and a survival instinct. I have to know how everything works and how to fix everything. If I can't fix something, I can always improvise. I've since moved to a larger boat and I'm living on it full time. I wanted a good boat that would handle more than I could. All the systems are very basic. I don't want to work on things...I want to enjoy sailing.
Captaintim1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2013, 17:52   #4

thanks captain tim!