Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-12-2012, 23:19   #1

New in San Francisco

Greetings one and all. I'm a new San Francisco resident. Just moved here from Colorado and have realized in the past month or so...that I really want to sail. I also have this tiny little naive voice in the back of my head telling me that I really want to live on a boat. I keep telling that voice to shut up because I have little to no experience or knowledge on the matter.

But...that voice isn't going away. So, I just signed up for my first lesson. 16 hours of training over a weekend. Ordered a few books as well to start learning. I'm praying that if the dream is going to be shattered, it'll happen sooner rather than later.

In the meantime though I'm going to try and learn and get as much experience as possible. But even that is a challenge as this is one of those circumstances where I don't even know what I don't know. I'm assuming in addition to nautical knowledge, a practical basis in wiring and diesel engines would be helpful.

I'm wondering if people have suggestions for gaining practical experience? Chartering or dumping a lot of money into classes seems like a waste of money that could be saved for the eventual purchase of my own boat. I'm an able body. How does one go about finding work repairing, crewing, servicing, sailing, or any of the like? Obviously all I have to offer right now is a bit of muscle and a semi dependable back. Unless they want to trade to have me fix their computer.

In addition, are there any books or manuals people consider invaluable? I'm feeling around in the dark. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Anyway, hello. It's good to meet everyone. Long way to go but getting involved here seemed a good first step.
iannitram is offline   Reply With Quote