Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2013, 22:46   #1

Hi, you all,
I have become interested in motor yachts recently. I have no experience but am just curious about living on board for periods of time and that particular lifestyle. I have been reading harrowing accounts of adventures at sea during periods of heavy weather, and the toll it takes on the ship as well as the crew. It is interesting to read firsthand experiences and visualize the actual moments describing the drama, and thus come to experience a small part of it all by living the events even vicariously. I greatly respect the seaman who has known the reality of life on the sea in all kinds of weather, whose education can never be duplicated. I guess I should like to have the privilege of hanging around and listening to the bits and pieces that make up your unique and fascinating lives. I thank you all for your graciousness in allowing me to absorb from reading your threads, because i have absolutely nothing to contribute, except perhaps an annoying question occasionally when I might want to "pick your brains". So, thank you for welcoming me to your great web site.
Most sincerely,
ekps1388
ekps1388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 22:49   #2

Re: New Member

Welcome aboard. Everyone is learning, or should be, anyway. I heard somewhere that you should never get on a boat with someone who tells you they are a good sailor.

Get as much time on the water as you can. The more experience you have, even if it's just rowing a canoe on the bay, can be helpful. A lot of it is about knowing how the ocean works as much as it is about how boats work.
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 23:09   #3

Thank you Rebel Heart!
Old 10-06-2013, 00:13   #4