Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2008, 08:43   #1

Location: Currently live in the North Georgia mountains but have a home on Westport Island, ME, about an hour north of Portland.
Boat: Mainship 34 Hardtop- "Grace"
New member greeting!

Glad to be aboard! I am a semi-retired physician who has been sailing for 35 years, living aboard and cruising on a Shannon 38 ketch for five years. I am making the difficulty transition to motor cruising but very excited about learning new skills. My wife and I have a home on Westport Island, ME about an hour north of Portland where we plan to cruise the Maine coast in our Mainship 34 Hardtop during the summer. I am experienced in the medical aspects of diving, wilderness activities and cruising and would be pleased to share my knowledge.

My Mainship, Grace, is in a yard on the southeast shore of the Chesapeake being outfitted with new electronics, etc. I am looking at the option of taking her to Maine on her bottom versus on a truck. My time is somewhat limited and with the price of fuel the costs are comparable. Can someone give me the distance in nautical miles via the ICW from the mouth of the Chesapeake to Portland, ME? Your assistance would be much appreciated.

DocB
Burt Prater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 08:51   #2

Boat: Van de Stadt 34'
Welcome aboard from the Emerald Isle doc! Can't help on the ICW but I'm sure lots of folk here will be jumping in on that. Enjoy the transition and kick the hell out of that semi retirement!! Enjoy!!
Old 13-05-2008, 09:35   #3

Boat: Endeavour40 - MOBETAH
Glad to have you aboard & Good luck with that power boat thing!

Sorry Doc but the Atlantic ICW starts in Norfork VA and heads south.
mobetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 09:50   #4