Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-02-2022, 10:24   #1

New member headed to the South Pacific

Hello all,
newbie here, beginning a sabbatical year and planning on learning how to sail in the South Pacific starting in July. Is it realistic to fly to Tahiti and hope to make it to Australia by November? I will be looking to crew on boats heading West..ish.
Liese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2022, 11:53   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: New member headed to the South Pacific

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Liese.
not likely.
minimum sailing time/distance, from French Polynesia to Australia is about 80 days, 4000 nautical miles.
See also ➥ https://tahititourisme.ca/en-ca/covid-19/

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2022, 12:55   #3

Most boats will have to be in Australia or New Zealand during November in order to avoid the South Pacific cyclone season. Many insurances dictate that the vessel must be out of the cyclone area by November.
kiwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2022, 12:57   #4

And 4000 miles is only 4-6 weeks sailing for most smaller vessels. Most 40 ft plus boats will do 1000 miles/week in trade wind conditions.
kiwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2022, 13:56   #5

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop

Quote:
Is it realistic to fly to Tahiti and hope to make it to Australia by November?