Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2022, 12:24   #1

Boat: Gulf Coast 18 sailboat
New sailor in Conroe, Tx

First post here to kick off a slew of annoying threads and questions (after reading as much as I can I promise!)

I'm Miles hailing from Conroe Texas (north side of Houston). Born in Central California but lived in Texas most of my life. I'm an Eagle Scout and enjoy the outdoors, but spend most of my free time working with vintage machinery and classic cars. I'm a mechanic and machinist with a company that specializes in leatherworking machinery (service and manufacturing).

I'm married with three little kids (2, 4, and 8) and we try to get out for a "big" vacation once a year. I really love road-tripping the American West and camping, but really any kind of traveling adventure where we get to soak up some scenery.

So a few years back I started watching Acorn to Arabella and the Tally Hoe Restoration on YouTube and while I doubt I'll ever have the time or means to undertake such a project, I love the practical functional skill that goes into ship building and the adventure that follows. I'm very much the kind of guy that if I want to get into something, I'll start with restoring or rebuilding something old (aka: experienced) so that I understand how it works and I trust it's track record. This often leads me into biting off more than I can chew at times, but I enjoy the results more than just "buying" things.