Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2007, 09:25   #1

New sailor, needs much assistance

Hello,

I'm new to sailing, but I have big plans. I'm a 21 yr old college student that has about $8000 in the bank to spend on a boat, food, and supplies and anything else I would need to travel from tampa florida to the florida keys and back. I want to go on an adventure of my lifetime. I'm taking sailing lessons. What kind of boat should I buy and how long should it be? Is my dream possible with only $8,000? I want a summer vacation that is memorable and fun and I believe it would be a blast out on the open water just cruising by myself. Any ideas? please give me some thoughts and ideas. Thanks all!

-Chad
dmb4eva85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2007, 10:45   #2

Boat: 15 foot Canoe
Aloha Chad,
Welcome aboard!!
1. Yes, it's possible but you need more experience. Many sailors have gone cruising on less money but then they have built or been given a boat. 2. Please consider the weather during those months that you are on break. Find out when the tropical storms normally form and avoid those months as much as possible. 3. Get with a local sailing club and talk with some of the members to help find an inexpensive solid boat up to about 28 feet that has made a few cruises. 4. If it doesn't come together on your budget consider crewing with an experienced skipper for that time. You'll have the "on the water" experience but you won't be alone and it won't be your own boat. There are some advantages to that.
Kind Regards,
JohnL
SkiprJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2007, 10:51   #3

thanks