Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2010, 08:13   #1

Newbie, Wondering...

Hi, from Missouri! I'm really brand new to this and trying to figure out if I'm nuts or if I should sell my house and take off, while I still can. (LOL)

I live a hundred yards f4rom a municipal lake that flows into a river that goes to the lakes, and as you all probably know, into other rivers to the Big Muddy that leads to the Gulf of Mexico and from there the rest of the world, so you might see my facination with all this. I grew up on rivers and lakes in SW Missouri, was in the English Channel aboard a hovercraft that made me rather ill in rough seas a it floated over the water. I have sailed various small boats, but can't say I'm a sailor. My largest tub was a 24' Invader cuddy cabin and now a Sea Raider (14' jet boat) sits in the backyard!

I enjoy reading this site, but many topics are bursting my perception of the liveaboard lifestyle with a dose of reality. Catching rainwater or hauling water? Being boarded by harrassing law enforcement, which would set me off real quick and it appears that every foot of the waterway is regulated by those who don't want you there.

Just read about cruising of $500 a month, sounds great, but is that really possible?

And the boat, I really want something that has a shoal draft, as I really want to hit the rivers and tie up at the banks. I was wondering about a Carri-craft houseboat, a 45 or 50 footer. Then again, I like the Gemini 105, too. Guess I'm saying hi and looking for encouragement, or maybe it's reality I should be made aware of! Thanks all... Bill
Wavewacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 06:42   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavewacker View Post