Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-07-2011, 17:48   #1

Racer Who Longs to Be a Cruiser

Greetings all! I just recently found this forum when I Googled a question about cruising. I'll get to that in a minute. I have been racing the Cadillac of dinghy's (Lightning's) for the past 10 years in the St. Louis area. I know most of you who know where St Louis is will say . .what do people in the midwest know about sailing. But you might be surprised to know that the fleet of Lightnings I sail with include former National, World and Junior National Champions! These are an incredibly talented group of sailors as far as racing goes. In landlocked mid-America !!!

Before I started racing My wife and I took the Colgate Learn to Sail course in Captiva, and then Basic Keelboat and Live Aboard courses in the BVI. We have been bareboating for 10 years now and are in our early 50's. I have a dream to do a circumnavigation before I am 60, but that is another story. (The wife will probably do cameo appearances).

I know this is the M&G forum, and I had a hell of a time just figuring out how to post something here. But thanks to CapnGeo I have figured this much out.

Let me apologize in advance if the remainder of my post is inappropriate for posting here on the M&G forum. I am open to any advice in that regard.

Here is what I'd like some advice on, with a little background info: