Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2006, 15:04   #1

Sailor Wannabe

Hey there all!!

My buddy and I have been talking about buying and sharing a sailboat for a couple years now, and now we want to finally do it. But im getting a little disgruntled now, as i am from Southern California......it seems the internet is painting quite a grim picture when it comes to boat storage. It seems to claim that small boats are being edged out of the marina, and space is super-limited, and even the boatyards for drydocking stacks are running out of room. So what im wondering is the situation that desperate here, or can i still get a slip with a little bit of persistance?

We are looking to get a 25-29 footer....we have been taking classes and we are both hooked. Let me know please.
BronzeAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2006, 20:21   #2

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
I was having trouble finding slips 20+ years ago in Sandy Eggo. I can only imagine what it's like now.

As far as I know, no one is building any more marinas. They are building one here in Everett but that's the only one I've heard of in the past 10 years. And they are taking their sweet time about it.

Canada's west coast seems to be the only place that has invested in the idea.
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 21:35   #3
Senior Cruiser

Boat: 1980 Endeavour 43 (Ketch)
Well Bronze .. So Cal is kind of a large area. Can you narrow it down a bit?

In the mean time:
Santa Barbara - 20 year plus wait (if you know someone)

Ventura - still cycles okay - boat that size maybe a 3 or 4 month wait

Oxnard (Channel Islands Harbor) Small boat slips going bye bye - but there ARE some - catch it right, and no problem .. on a wait list - forget it.