Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2017, 07:39   #1

Total Newb, mainland US

Moved to mainland for school, originally from Hawaii. I was looking into a skoolie, but wasn't satisfied being on land all the time.
I'm almost done with college now, and it's time to look at my living situation. I'm frugal and am already comfortable living out of a backpack, so I'm extra excited to see a livaboard as a viable option. So the more common challenges won't really be so bad for me. Here are the things in currently looking at as challenges:
1. Buying a boat that isn't a lemon. What should I look out for?
2. Big dog living with me on a small boat. New potty training? Astroturf? Any success here?
3. Learning to sail properly. (Anyone know how to use a sextant? I never want to 100% rely on technology)
4. Work and money in different countries. (I'm an aircraft mechanic But am flexible)
5. Size of boat for safe world sailing.

I'll, of course, be obsessively reading through the threads here. But if you have answers readily available, I will gladly listen.

Mahalo!!!
Fountainofclyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2017, 08:05   #2

Location: La Ciudad de la Misión Didacus de Alcalá en Alta California, Virreinato de Nueva España
Boat: Cal 20
Total Newb, mainland US

I can help you with celestial navigation, just not from my phone.